Muslim Holidays

Learn more about the holidays Muslims celebrate.

The Islamic Calendar
Islam has a calendar based on the revolutions of the Moon. Thus, it is only 354 days long. It contains several major holidays and is about 11 days different from Western calendars.

The Islamic New Year
Islamic New Year is celebrated on the first day of Muharram, the first Islamic month. The marking of the beginning of the new year is usually quiet, unlike New Year's celebrations associated with other calendars.

Ashura is a time of fasting and of inner thoughts. It is usually celebrated on the 10th day of Muharram, the first month in the Islamic Calendar.

Eid-Al-Adha is one of the major holidays of Islam. According to Muslim tradition, it celebrates the sacrifice that Abraham was willing to make of his own son Ishmael when he was commanded to show his commitment to Allah.

Mawlid an-Nabi
an-Nabi is a special holiday for many in the Muslim faith. It is celebrated to mark the birthday of the Prophet Muhammad

Isra Mer'Aj
Mer'aj is a very special night in the Muslim faith. The official name of the holiday is Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, which means "the night journey and ascension." It is celebrated on the 27th day of Rajab, the seventh month of the Islamic Calendar.

Ramadan is a holy month dominated by daily fasting and devotion to faith and reflection.

Eid-Al-Fitr is one of the major holidays of Islam. It comes at the end of the holy month of Ramadan and celebrates the end of the fasting.

Islam in General
Find out more about the religion overall.

Search This Site

Get weekly newsletter

Custom Search

Get weekly newsletter

Social Studies for Kids
copyright 2002–2023
David White