The Supreme Court: the Laws of the Land

More of this Feature

• Part 2:

On This Site

The U.S. Federal Court System
The First Meeting of the Supreme Court
Marbury v. Madison
The U.S. Government

Share This Page

Follow This Site

Follow SocStudies4Kids on Twitter

The United States Supreme Court is the highest court in the land. All rulings issued by the Supreme Court are final, unless they are overturned by subsequent Supreme Court rulings.

The Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government consists of a large number of courts that can be grouped into three main areas: District Courts, Courts of Appeals, and the Supreme Court. As the highest court, the Supreme Court hears appeals from either level of the two lower courts.

The Supreme Court has nine members: one Chief Justice and eight Associate Justices. As of 2017, the members of the Court are as follows:

  • John Roberts, Chief Justice
  • Stephen Breyer
  • Ruth Bader Ginsburg
  • Neil Gorsuch
  • Elena Kagan
  • Brett Kavanaugh
  • Sonia Sotomayor
  • John Paul Stevens
  • Clarence Thomas.

(Note: John Roberts is officially the Chief Justice of the United States, not Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.)

Next page > Procedures of the Court > Page 1, 2

Search This Site

Custom Search

Get weekly newsletter