Current EventsBook ReviewsFun and GamesCulturesTeaching Resources

The Making of the 50 States: Illinois

Part 2: The Rest of the Story

The Northwest Territory, formed in 1787, included Illinois. So did the Indiana Territory, formed in 1800. Three years later, Fort Dearborn was built near what is now Chicago. In 1809, the Illinois Territory was officially created, with Kaskaskia as its capital. Fur trappers and other settlers began to put down roots in the new territory, which included all of Wisconsin except the northern part of the Green Bay peninsula, a large part of Michigan, and all of Minnesota east of the Mississippi.

Illinois was also a battleground during the War of 1812. Native Americans killed many Americans at Fort Dearborn. With the American victory, in 1814, Illinois was secure.

The territory had, with the permission of the U.S. Congress in 1812, chosen a representative assembly and elected a territorial delegate to Congress. Eager to keep Kaskaskia, Vincennes, and other important cities in American hands, the United States put Illinois statehood on the fast track.

On December 3, 1818, Illinois became the 21st state. Its capital was Kaskaskia.

First page > In the Beginning > Page 1, 2

Graphics courtesy of ArtToday

Custom Search

Follow SocStudies4Kids on Twitter


on this site

Social Studies
for Kids
copyright 2002-2014,
David White

Sites for Teachers