Current EventsBook ReviewsFun and GamesCulturesTeaching Resources


Confederate States of America

 Related Terms

• Jefferson Davis
Alexander Stephens
Civil War


Definition: The 11 Southern states that seceded from the Union before or during the Civil War: South Carolina, Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Texas, Virginia, Arkansas, North Carolina, and Tennessee. Jefferson Davis and Alexander Stephens were elected president and vice-president, respectively. The first capital was Montgomery, Ala.; the capital moved to Richmond, Va., in May, 1861.

Related Resources:
About the Civil War
Find facts, figures, maps, timelines, and much more on this important American war.

Elsewhere on the Web:
The Confederate States of America
Find out more about the government of the South.

Constitution of the Confederate States
A great primary source.

<Back to Last Page>     <Full List>      <Related Subject>

Custom Search

Follow SocStudies4Kids on Twitter


on this site

Social Studies
for Kids
copyright 2002-2014,
David White

Sites for Teachers