Current EventsBook ReviewsFun and GamesCulturesTeaching Resources

Shavuot: Holy Days of Judaism

On This Site

More on Shavuot
The Ten Commandments

Elsewhere on the Web

• Origins of Shavuot
Shavuot Recipes

Shavuot begins May 17 at sundown. It is one of the holiest days in the Jewish calendar. It is also called the Feast of Weeks and takes place exactly seven weeks after the Jewish holiday of Passover. Shavuot is Hebrew for Weeks.

The Torah refers to Shavuot as an agricultural festival. It was celebrated between the barley harvest and the beginning of the ripening of wheat.

Shavuot also celebrates the giving of the Ten Commandments to Moses and then to the Israelites. Moses went up on Mount Sinai to talk to Yahweh. When he returned, he was carrying the Ten Commandments, laws for his people to follow.

Jewish people celebrate Shavuot by eating special foods. Some people have Confirmation ceremonies on Shavuot.

It is a two-day festival, one of reflection and thanksgiving.

Graphics courtesy of ArtToday

Custom Search

Follow SocStudies4Kids on Twitter


on this site

Social Studies
for Kids
copyright 2002-2014,
David White

Sites for Teachers