No Three-peat for Democrats in White House

On This Site

Current Events

Share This Page

Follow This Site

Follow SocStudies4Kids on Twitter

November 8, 2016

The victory of Donald Trump in the 2016 presidential election meant that the Democratic Party did not win three presidential elections in a row, following Barack Obama's two victories in 2008 and 2012.

Democrat Franklin D. Roosevelt won four straight elections all by himself in 1932–1944.

The Republican Party had a three-peat in recent history, when George Bush, the sitting Vice-president, won in 1988, following two straight wins by Ronald Reagan, in 1980 and 1984. The GOP also enjoyed a three-peat in 1920–1928, with Warren G. Harding, Calvin Coolidge, and Herbert Hoover, respectively.

The Democrats had a three-peat, in the 19th Century, when Andrew Jackson was elected twice and his Vice-president, Martin van Buren, followed with a victory. That sustained governance by Democrats was 1828–1840.

The GOP also had a three-peat in the 19th Century, when Ulysses S. Grant won in 1868 and 1872 and Rutherford B. Hayes emerged victorious in 1876.

The all-time record for consecutive presidential election wins by a political party goes to the now-defunct Democratic-Republican Party. Thomas Jefferson, then James Madison, then James Monroe all won two terms, so the Democratic-Republicans ruled the White House from 1800 to 1824.

Search This Site

Custom Search

Social Studies for Kids
copyright 2002–2016
David White