Treasury Guarantees Woman for Face of $10 Bill

On This Site

Current Events

Share This Page

Follow This Site

Follow SocStudies4Kids on Twitter

June 17, 2015

A woman will be on the face of the $10 bill in 2020, U.S. Treasury Secretary Jack Lew has announced.

The name of that woman won't be known for a few months, until after the Treasury Department does some consulting, including a social media campaign with the hashtag #TheNew10.

Alexander Hamilton, the nation's first Treasury Secretary is on the face of the $10 bill and has been in that position since 1929. Until then, the $10 bill had President Andrew Jackson on the face.

Jackson is now on the face of the $20 bill, and that bill was the target of a recent campaign to replace Jackson with a woman. That campaign is ongoing.

Such a move needs the approval of the Treasury Secretary, of course, and the $10 bill maneuver might supersede the $20 bill effort, unless Lew decides to approve a woman's adorning more than one denomination of America's official paper currency.

Lew said that the new $10 bill would be introduced in conjunction with celebrations to mark the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment, granting women the right to vote.

Only men have been on the faces of American paper currency, with the exception of former First Lady Martha Washington, whose face appeared on the $1 Silver Certificate from 1891 to 1896.

Lew also said that Hamilton wouldn't be disappearing entirely from the $10 bill. One possibility was that Hamilton and a woman would share the limelight on the face of the $10 bill. Another possibility would be more than one official $10 bill, with Hamilton on one version of the bill and a woman on the other version of the bill.

Lew further said that the new $10 bill, no matter who is on the cover, would include a feature to help blind people identify it from other bills.

The Treasury Department had announced in March that the $10 bill would be up for review.

Search This Site

Custom Search

Social Studies for Kids
copyright 2002–2015
David White