Current EventsBook ReviewsFun and GamesCultures

Iditarod Winner Oldest Ever
March 13, 2013

Also on This Site

Other Current Events

Keeping the winning in the family, Mitch Seavey won the 2013 Iditarod, becoming the oldest winner a year after his son Dallas scored a win as the youngest-ever.

Mitch Seavey, 53, reached the finish line in Nome a mere 9 days, 7 hours, 39 minutes, and 56 seconds after the traditional start in Anchorage. Coming in second for a second straight year was Aliy Zirkle, this time just 24 minutes back. It was one of the smallest time differences between first and second in the 40-year history of the event. Zirkle would have been the first woman to win since 1990. That year, Susan Butcher won her fourth title.

Seavey won in 2004, and this year was his 20th time competing in the event. His grandfather Dan finished third in the inaugural event. All three Seaveys took part in last year's event, with young Dallas, 25, winning.

A total of 66 competitors pushed off from the start line in Anchorage and traveled the nearly 1,000 miles, along the northern route this year. Ten have dropped out so far. (Teams of 16 dogs begin the race; mushers must finish with at least six.) Dallas Seavey finished fourth, one place behind four-time winner Jeff King.

Seavey won a prize of a new truck and $50,400.



The Web This Site


on this site

Social Studies
for Kids
copyright 2002-2014,
David White

Sites for Teachers