G-20 Name Women's Panel: W-20

On This Site

Current Events

Share This Page

Follow This Site

Follow SocStudies4Kids on Twitter

September 7, 2015

The G-20 are gathered in Ankara, Turkey, and they have announced a new group of female leaders, called the W-20.

High-level representatives of the world’s 20 leading economies make up the G-20, which meets regularly to talk about the world economy. The leader of the host nation, Turkish Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoglu, announced the formation of the new group.

The first president of the group, Gulden Turktan, said that the group would work around the world to increase the inclusion of women in world economic growth. The group will have its first meeting in October in Istanbul, once all countries have appointed their members of the group.

Also speaking at the event that launched the W-20 was the managing director of the International Monetary Fund, Christine Lagarde (right).

Members of the G-20 are these:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • China
  • France
  • Germany
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Mexico
  • Russia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Turkey
  • the United Kingdom
  • the United States
  • the European Union.

Search This Site

Custom Search

Social Studies for Kids
copyright 2002–2015
David White